October 28, 2020

NEW YORK, NY – The American College of Governance Counsel, the organization for leading corporate governance lawyers from the U.S. and Canada, has elected its sixth class to include 22 new Fellows.

“We are excited to have this distinguished group join the ranks of the College and are gratified that they have chosen to do so. We know that they will make important contributions to our work,” said Larry W. Sonsini, Chair of the College. The election of the sixth group of Fellows will bring the ranks of the College to 135 Fellows and Honorary Fellows.  “It is gratifying to see the College continue to expand as the preeminent body of corporate governance counsellors in North America,” added Holly J. Gregory, President of the College. “I join our Chair in welcoming the new class drawn from the United States and Canada of leading practitioners, general counsel, academics, and a former chief justice.”

The list of newly elected Fellows is appended.

The College also announced the appointment of the following Fellows to the Board of Trustees effective in January 2021:

Margaret M. (Peggy) Foran, Chief Governance Officer, Senior Vice President and Corporate Secretary of Prudential Financial Inc. (United States)

Steven M. Haas, Partner and Co-head of Mergers & Acquisitions at Hunton Andrews Kurth (United States)

Cornell Wright, Chair of the Corporate Department at Torys LLP (Canada)

Mr. Sonsini stated: “We are pleased to add Peggy, Steven and Cornell to the ranks of our Board of Trustees, and look forward to their guidance and stewardship.  Their commitment to the College is greatly appreciated.”   

The College is a professional, educational and honorary association organized to recognize distinguished professionals who excel in counseling boards and directors, officers and others charged with governance responsibilities. The College seeks to promote a high level of professional standards for those engaged in the governance practice along with a better understanding and broader adoption of best governance practices.  Fellows and Honorary Fellows are chosen from the ranks of lawyers in the United States and Canada who have displayed a high level of professionalism and a commitment to the advancement of the governance practice through a combination of practice and thought leadership activities. Through its programs, the College, which was established in 2014, explores the major governance issues facing business enterprises including challenges to traditional models of governance, risk management, shareholder engagement, and an increasingly complex regulatory and enforcement environment.  The College’s Honorary Co-Chairs are Martin Lipton, Ira M. Millstein, and E. Norman Veasey.

More about the College can be found at


American College of Governance Counsel
Sixth Class of Fellows
October 2020

Lillian Brown

Rob Evans
Locke Lord

Mary A. Francis

Eduardo Gallardo
Gibson Dunn

Marc S. Gerber

James D. Honaker
Morris Nichols Arsht & Tunnell

Robert J. Jackson, Jr.
NYU School of Law

Kai H.E. Liekefett
Sidley Austin

Susan S. Muck

Sabastian V. Niles
Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Barak Orbach
University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law

Emmanuel Pressman

Simone Sepe
University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law

Claudius O. Sokenu

David E. Sternberg
Brown Brothers Harriman

Leo E. Strine, Jr.
Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Sarah Teslik

Lizanne Thomas
Jones Day

Sean Vanderpol
Stikeman Elliott

Kellye Walker
Eastman Chemical Company

Carol J. Ward
Foresight Board Operations

R. Daniel Witschey, Jr.
Bracewell LLP