October 14, 2021

NEW YORK, NY – The American College of Governance Counsel, the organization for leading corporate governance lawyers from the U.S. and Canada, has elected 14 new Fellows in its class of 2021.

“The addition of this outstanding group of experts reflects the growth and specialization of corporate governance as a distinct field of law and the valuable contributions to the field that each of these accomplished individuals has made and are expected to continue to make. Never before has there been such a need for collaboration by the distinguished members of the College on the issues facing corporate enterprises,” said Larry W. Sonsini, Chair of the College. 

“It is gratifying to see the College continue to expand as the preeminent body of corporate governance counsellors in North America,” added Holly J. Gregory, President of the College. “We are excited to welcome this distinguished group of leading practitioners and jurists to the College, and look forward to the perspectives and energy they will bring to our discussions. We know that they will make important contributions to our work.” The list of newly elected Fellows is appended.

The College was founded with the guidance of Honorary Co-Chairs Martin Lipton, Ira M. Millstein, and E. Norman Veasey as a professional, educational and honorary association organized to recognize distinguished professionals who excel in counseling boards and directors, officers and others charged with governance responsibilities. The College seeks to promote a high level of professional standards for those engaged in the governance practice along with a better understanding and broader adoption of effective governance practices. 

Fellows are chosen from the ranks of lawyers in the United States and Canada who have displayed a high level of professionalism and a commitment to the advancement of corporate governance practice through a combination of practice and thought leadership activities. Through its programs, the College, which was established in 2014, explores the major governance issues facing business enterprises including challenges to traditional models of governance, risk management, shareholder engagement, and an increasingly complex regulatory and enforcement environment. John Olson served as the College’s Founding Chair.

More about the College can be found at

American College of Governance Counsel 2021 Class of Fellows

Andre Bouchard
Former Chancellor
Delaware Court of Chancery

John Cafiero
Prudential Financial, Inc.

Elizabeth Dunshee

Michelle Earley
Locke Lord

Margee Elias
Gogo Inc.

John Emanoilidis
Torys LLP

Lyuba Goltser
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Rebecca Grapsas
Sidley Austin LLP

Joel Greenberg
Arnold & Porter

Doreen Lilienfeld
Shearman & Sterling LLP

Laura McIntosh
Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Arthur Kohn
CitiGroup, Inc

Dannette Smith
UnitedHealth Group

Spencer Smul
The Estée Lauder Companies Inc.